Ilkley Harriers news archive 2009

Runner of the Month, January

Nominations were:
Becky Malby for organising the Primary school XC,
Amanda Parnaby for her long distance run at Scarborough Rock,
Jane Bryant for her Brass monkey PB.
Jane and Amanda were voted ROM and will receive technical running shirts from ROM sponsor UP & RUNNING.

There were no nominations for Outstanding Achievement Award this month.

Runner of The Month page

Ilkley Harriers Awards for 2008

The Ilkley Harriers Do on 30 Jan was a swinging affair, including the annual presentation of awards and the unveiling of the 2008 Running League final results ...

AwardWinnerOther nominees
Best Runner, MaleTom AdamsEddie Winslow, Jeff Paget, James Wood-Robertson, Jamie Hutchinson
Best Runner, FemaleAlison BennettChristine Matthews, Sally Malir, Sarah Jarvis, Emma Barclay
Most Improved Runner, MaleKevin GoochMorgan Williams, Vic Verecondi, Tom Adams, Justin Philips, Marc Teasey
Most Improved Runner, FemaleSally MorleyCatherine Gibbons, Jane Bryant, Christine Matthews, Jenny Dybeck, Kay Pearce, Alison Bennett
Best Endurance Runner, MaleEddie WinslowBrian Melia, Graham Arthur, Morgan Williams, Dave Wilby
Best Endurance Runner, FemaleHeather Dawe Amanda Parnaby, Christine Matthews, Sally Malir
Best Runner, Under 20, MaleSimon Chapman 
Best Runner, Under 20, FemaleJenny DybeckCatherine Gibbons 
Contribution to the club, MalePete ShieldsBrian Sweet, Neil Chapman, Paul Wood, Nigel Tapper, Andy Wolfenden, Marc Teasey
Contribution to the club, FemaleShirley WoodAlison Weston, Sue Bickerdike, Alison Bennett
Captains' Award, Maletbcn/a
Captains' Award, Femaletbcn/a

Ilkley Harriers Running League 2008

Overall: Kevin Gooch
Road: Pete Shields, Kevin Gooch
Fell: Dave Tait
Trail/XC: Sally Malir
U20: Simon Chapman, Catherine Gibbons

The final results of the 2008 League are here: PDF form or MS Excel form. Congratulations to our new League Champion, Kevin Gooch.

Stanbury Splash, Sun 25 Jan

A great turnout of nearly 30 Harriers in the first Running League event of 2009. We had 1st lady Sabine Hauswirth and 3rd lady and 1st lady vet Sally Morley leading our ladies to the team prize, and some great runs from the men including Tom Adams 6th to get the men's team prize too. This was in addition to 17 Junior Harriers and several prizes in the Quarry Runs.
Full results and photos on

1   44.04  Ian Holmes
2   46.01  Graham Pearce P&B
6   49.05  Tom Adams
9   49.51  Lee Morley
19  52.10  Steve Turland
32  54.20  Jim Ryder
41  55.07  Mark Iley
47  55.38  Sabine Hauswirth    1st lady
62  58.03  Paul O'Looney
74  58.58  Sally Morley
75  59.03  Kevin Gooch
88  59.52  Duncan Cooper
96  60.31  Paul Stevens
104 61.20  Geoff Howard
138 64.29  Richard Reeve
146 64.55  Steve Weston
149 65.10  Chris Oxlade
176 67.25  Nigel Tapper
200 69.58  Val Kerr
203 70.10  Michael Waterhouse
215 71.08  Peter Bedwell
243 74.02  Ian Hunter
244 74.04  Rachael Gooch
247 74.15  Sue Bickerdike
264 76.49  John Marshall
265 76.59  Vic Verecondi
277 79.39  Bernie Gibbons
279 79.47  Sophie Brown
284 81.55  Bob Payne
294 87.19  Andrew Bennett
297 89.14  Emma Payne

Brass Monkey Half Marathon, Sun 18 Jan

Results from

59  1:21:15  Jonathan Sinclair
76  1:22:11  Stuart Pitches
109 1:25:15  Steve Weston
137 1:26:37  Sally Malir
146 1:27:06  Justin Phillips
181 1:28:55  Neil Chapman
226 1:31:03  Terry Lonergan
329 1:35:04  Jane Bryant
348 1:35:33  Simon Chapman
566 1:42:17  Graham Corbett
600 1:44:16  Nick Mellor
615 1:45:01  Peter Bedwell

Scarborough Rock, Sat 17 Jan

Amanda Parnaby ran this, organised by EYLDWA, 25 miles and just over 3,000ft of climb. Started at Scalby then into Scarborough, along sea front, out over Oliver's Mount and into countryside in and around Hackness and Forge Valley. Beautiful day and fine views. Finished back at Scalby in 6 hrs 10 mins.

Runner of the Month, December

The winners were Sabine Hauswirth and Sally Morley, for their Calderdale Relay run, and Catherine Gibbons for race results, and they will receive technical running shirts from our sponsor UP & RUNNING.

More on the ROM Page.

The Outstanding Achievement Award was given to Eddie Winslow for his Winter Bob Graham Round.

Training News, Mon 12 Jan

Starting this Thursday there is a new Thursday daytime session for Mums from ILT&SC - more info on the Forums topic

Starting this month there is a social meal on the last Tuesday of each month - more info on the Forums topic
And we've heard that Richard Gray will be organising a handicap event for the evening of Tuesday 17th February - more details soon.

PECO XC, Sun 11 Jan

Results from the 3rd race in the series, at John Smeaton sports centre.

2    Tom Adams
8    Jamie Hutchinson
27   Malcolm Pickering
28   Dave Wilby
34   Dave Cummings
78   Henry Heavisides
84   Neil Chapman
111  Phil Chappell
113  Jim Towers
114  Paul Wood
120  Vic Verecondi
126  Andy Jackson, new member
135  Don Mcrae

Ladies race
2    Jenny Dybeck, in a very close race for 1st place
3    Sally Malir
26   Diane Kitchen
69   Sally Pickering
83   Lyn Eden
86   Amanda Parnaby

Lots of good results in the junior race too.

First video effort by Sam 'Spielberg' Wood aged 13 ...

Yorkshire XC, Sat 10 Jan

Ian Rowbotham competed in the senior men's race in Rotherham, finishing 96th in 40.21
Ilkley was also represented in the U15 boys race, and we had a team in the U13 girls race (more on the Junior web site).

Terry Lonergan adds ... Sub zero conditions posed great problems for the runners as many arrived with 15mm spikes fitted which made no impression on the hard ground. Naturally many fitted a shorter length whilst others opted for studs or even road shoes! With several looping circuits built into the hillside it was a testing course but it made spectating easy! Ianís fell background stood him in good stead as he recorded a solid 96th placing of the 205 who tackled the extremely difficult conditions.

New Year's Training

Nidd Ringway Relay, Sun 4 Jan

Jane Bryant reports that our team were 33rd in 3h07:17

Ilkley Harriers Forums are here!

What? Why? Where? See the new Forum Page.

Silsden New Year Run, Fri 2 Jan

22  21.46  James Wardman
27  22.18  Norman Bush
66  28.08  Logan Hargreaves-Madhas
80  31.22  Odin Hargreaves-Madhas

Giants Tooth fell race, Thu 1 Jan

Just one result ...

11  19.33  Ian Rowbotham

Older News, Dec 2008